What's an AVA? Oregon's Wine Growing Regions.
What's an AVA? Oregon's Wine Growing Regions.

What's an AVA? Oregon's Wine Growing Regions.

American Viticultural Areas (AVAs) are winegrowing regions with soil chemistry and microclimate distinct from one another. The characteristics of an AVA result in grapes with traits based on those unique factors. Wines made from a grape varietal of one AVA may exhibit different flavors and aromas than a wine made from grapes grown elsewhere.

Oregon has 17 AVAs. About half are sub-AVAs found within larger growing regions. These small-yet-distinct AVAs are one reason Oregon's wine industry is so specialized, and has become world-renowned for its wines.

Click on an AVA below for information on varietals grown there and wineries located in or near it.

Applegate Valley

Chehalem Mountains

Columbia Gorge

Columbia Valley

Dundee Hills

Elkton Oregon

Eola-Amity Hills


Red Hill Douglas County

Ribbon Ridge

Rogue Valley

Snake River Valley

Southern Oregon

Umpqua Valley

Walla Walla Valley

Willamette Valley

Yamhill-Carlton District